Steam did it again. I purchased another game with reckless abandon, at least as far as my wallet is concerned. This time it was People Can Fly’s balls to the wall combo based shooter, Bulletstorm. Sitting oposite the gritty grounded in reality Gears series, Bulletstorm celebrates the absurd. With a tone that sets it squarely apart from the droves of modern military first person shooters that currently flood the market, Bulletstorm was the proverbial ‘breathe of fresh air’ that my feeling towards the genre desperately needed.

The initial buzz surrounding Bulletstorm all seemed centered on the madlib swearing conventions of the game’s characters, but beyond a few hilarious interactions, the conversational dialogue feels surprisingly organic. With my sole trepidation of buying the game relegated to a few instances over the six hour campaign, I couldn’t really be any more happy with my 5 dollar purchase.

The guns feel great, the combo system unique, and the narrative is light in a way that I find utterly refreshing. Despite taking place in a universe that is obviously larger then the game’s core narrative, People Can Fly didn’t feel obligated to get too deep into the mythos of the universe – something that I think games have forgotten how to do. I don’t need to know about the political machinations of the Bulletstorm universe, it just isn’t important. I’m sure a whole mess of details probably exist somewhere on an internal design document, but as I said, People Can Fly’s restraint is refreshing in the face of games stuffed full of exposition simply in service of furthering their self serious attitudes towards narrative.

With a 5 dollar price tag come a completely different set of expectations from a full priced retail game. Along with paying 2 dollars for Alpha Protocol, Bulletstorm sits as a shinning example of the deals that can be had when owning a PC. Sure Steam isn’t healthy for my wallet, but on its quest to put me in the red it is also exposing me to a greater range of games then I would have other wise had access to – at least at a reasonable price point.

It might be dumb, and it might be short, but Bulletstorm certainly proved it is worthy of a Lincoln.

